I Evoke Brow 32: A full set of teeth

Marooned in Realtime, Vernor Vinge

Much too sore to do a full review, but I enjoyed this one too much to let it slip past (like so many books have since I started these reviews.) I almost quit initially–the plot seemed to be be headed down a very campy road. The possibly far fetched scenario is handled very thoughtfully, though, and the book conveys a surprising degree of emotion. It kept me up nights and the death of one of the characters, even told via a millennia old diary, actually got to me. The very end is a bit much as well as somewhat rushed, which knocks it down to a 8/10

Side thought: I claim I’m not interested in Mysteries, but how many great SF books are really mysteries?

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Reviews

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

